After posting about my dad’s old homestead, I got to thinking about the time we would go to the river to swim.

When I was a child, there was no air conditioners. The only way to cool off on a hot, humid, Arkansas summer was to go to the river. The shallow waters, made it perfect for children to wade and swim. A rocky bottom would toughen up tender feet. I would walk slowly on the rocks,  venturing out from the shallow water to deeper and colder depth. The large bluffs on the other side of the river played with my imagination.  What caves are hidden in the crevices? What treasures may be there, left my Native Americans? I recall spending most of my time studying the rock formations and picking up colorful, smooth river stones.

When I return the last time, the river area has been turn into a park. A small overflow dam lets the river flow on by. Grassy areas replace the rocks, but the bluffs are still there. I searched for the familiar crevices and recall stories about a panther that would roam through the area and  screamed during the night. No, I didn’t hear any panther screams, but I do think I found my favorite crevice that probably still has unknown treasures waiting to be discovered.

 

About photosbykenna

I enjoy taking photos of unusal things. I like different perspectives on a subject. While I have always taken pictures, it wasn't untill later that I became serious about it. I love to enter contests and have been fortunate to win several. I use a Cannon 4D camera.

3 responses »

  1. Ben Tucker says:

    Thanks for sharing, Nice shot and story to go along with it.

  2. Calvin Hill says:

    Life without air-condition does seem awful from our point of view in this day and age. Traveling to Nicaragua, my eyes have open to what life might have been like back then. They do have air-condition but not always. Great post!

Leave a Reply

