Call it Quits

Ok, I was finally able to go back and take a better picture of this billboard. I think this shot tells a great story how the ball field is about gone and this is the only piece remaining. At least on this day. At the end of the week it was still there.

This is the scoreboard for Ray Winder Field, Home of the Arkansas Travelers. The baseball field has been there, well, actually long before I was born.  We won’t go there, but you get my point. Many games were played on long hot summer days and nights. The city decided it was time for it to go.  It has been a long process in demolishing it but it is almost complete. When I saw the saying, “Call it Quits”, I felt that urge to take the picture and I did but as you can see, not a good photo.

Anyway, why should I care if they tear this down?  I don’t know the answer to this question. I can not get a grasp on it. I don’t even like baseball.  I might have gone to five games and that might be stretching the truth. Maybe I know they are just going to make a parking lot out of it. In my opinion to destroy something with a lot of history for a parking lot doesn’t make a lot of sense. Maybe it’s because it has been here for so many generations and with it gone, my grandchildren’s children will never know about it. But then, since they won’t know, they won’t know what they missed.

I often wonder, back in the old days, when process was creating changes in towns or places, if people often thought like I do. I imagine some may.

About photosbykenna

I enjoy taking photos of unusal things. I like different perspectives on a subject. While I have always taken pictures, it wasn't untill later that I became serious about it. I love to enter contests and have been fortunate to win several. I use a Cannon 4D camera.

2 responses »

  1. Calvin Hill says:

    Were you able to go back and grab one last shot? You should post your other picture you did a while back.

  2. Yes, I was able to go take another photo of the billboard. I’ll post it later. Need some more space on my computer. 🙂 I may post that other photo as well.

Leave a Reply

