Of course, one of the reasons for us to visit Hawaii, was to see the volcanoes. Sure, there are volcanoes in the States, but Hawaii had more of a pull to go and see. On our tour going to Volcanoes National Park, I asked our tour guide a ‘blonde’ question, “How far are we from the volcano”?  He informed me that we are on the volcano. I never thought of the island being the volcano. Yes, I knew these island were form by volcanoes, but the connection didn’t click with me.

When arrived, it was cloudy and misty to a light rain was falling. I ran up to the edge of the wall but the clouds were to thick to see anything. I was disappointed and thought I wouldn’t get to see the volcano.  I went inside the museum an started looking around. Just by chance, I looked out the glass door and low and behold, it was sunny.   I ran outside and started taking pictures.  The one posted is one of my favorites. It was so awesome. To see the steam come up and how the landscape was pretty much barren. This tour wasn’t staying late for night. I was hoping to see the lava, but talking with the park ranger, he informed me that I wouldn’t be able to see the lava from here anyway. That would require a helicopter, and that wasn’t in the plans for this trip. To say that you stood near and on a volcano is just awesome!

I just noticed that Word Press has started adding ads to my blog site. In order to get rid of the ads, I will have to upgrade and start paying a fee. Does these ads bother anyone?  I’ll have to think about it as I’m already paying for another site.

Volcanoes National Park

About photosbykenna

I enjoy taking photos of unusal things. I like different perspectives on a subject. While I have always taken pictures, it wasn't untill later that I became serious about it. I love to enter contests and have been fortunate to win several. I use a Cannon 4D camera.

3 responses »

  1. As a Big Island resident, I enjoyed your post.

Leave a Reply

