Hilo beach

Our first stop in Hawaii was Hilo. It was cloudy and misty. That didn’t matter. We had finally reached land after four days at sea. I tried to imagine what it would be like if you were alone on a raft and looking for land. A few days before we docked, I did see birds. I’ve seen a lot of nature shows, and knew this was a good sign.:)
Our first stop was at Hilo beach. It was so different the the beaches that I’m custom to. We usually go to Orange Beach, FL that has sand so white, one would think, if it wasn’t so hot, it was snow. Hilo beach had  dark sand. I’m not really sure you could call it sand. For those who live there, let me know. It was also rocky and solid so you didn’t sink into the sand. On my header, you can see the red, heart shape rock, that I found on the beach. I love that rock. I’m surprise I didn’t pick it up and bring it home. I do try to honor what is there, leave it there. I guess that is more ingrain in me then I realized.
I took this picture with my using the panorama feature on my IPhone. While the beach is not this shape, I love the effect I got. We then tour the town and the park. Our guide explained why the town wasn’t built closer to the beach, due to Tsunami that they have had in the past. For lunch we went to a resort. Walking around I spotted this bird. I believe it is a Cardinal. If not, let me know the correct name.

Cardinal,
I made two big mistake on this trip. The first one was not bringing a journal to write all of this down. The second mistake was not buying a journal when I realized I needed one. So, learn from me — bring a journal.

After I arrived back home, I heard that there was another Tsunami warning but I don’t think it did much if any damage.

About photosbykenna

I enjoy taking photos of unusal things. I like different perspectives on a subject. While I have always taken pictures, it wasn't untill later that I became serious about it. I love to enter contests and have been fortunate to win several. I use a Cannon 4D camera.

3 responses »

  1. Is there such a thing as Hilo Beach? I didn’t know … not many beaches on the east side! Always enjoy your posts and photos, Kenna 😉

Leave a Reply

