Image

While we were at Waimea Canyon, as I was taking photos, I saw this man painting. My first thought, “Wow, he crossed the safety railing. Look how close he is to the edge of the canyon.”  I tried to see what he was painting but couldn’t see. That will always be a mystery.

But something about him keeps bothering me. I don’t know anything about this person. I would guess he is an artist. He was doing something he enjoyed. In fact, he was even willing to “break the rules” by going off the beaten path. My mind keeps coming back to this photo. What is it with this photo? Why can’t I enjoy the freedom this person “seems to have”? Am I’m envious of him because he seems to know what he wants to do and I’m feeling at a lost? Do I see the freedom he seems to have and I still have responsibilities? He seems willing to break the rules to do what he wants and I won’t.

For those who are following me, I’ve recently retired in Oct. I was so excited, (still am, and loving it) because I would have more times to do photography. On my trip, I took hundreds of photos and continue to work on them. Plus I have backed up all of my photos that I didn’t take the time to do while I was working. I think while backing up my photos, this churning started.  A discontent. While I enjoy photographing flowers, nature, wildlife, outdoors, there is something missing and I can’t put my finger on it. I want to do more then just photograph flowers and nature, but I don’t know what. It’s like I have writer’s block, but it is with photography.

I know journaling is a great tool to discover answers, so I thought I would start with that. I’m trying to be patient with myself, but that can be hard at times. Has anyone one else gone through this?

About photosbykenna

I enjoy taking photos of unusal things. I like different perspectives on a subject. While I have always taken pictures, it wasn't untill later that I became serious about it. I love to enter contests and have been fortunate to win several. I use a Cannon 4D camera.

3 responses »

  1. Well, Kenna, I’m one of the rule breakers! Guess I was born to stare into the virtual visage of authority and challenge the rules someone else set for me. Most of the time I accomplish this quietly, in my own way – much like this guy seems to be doing. So I can’t help you there, only to say kudos to you for recognizing your ill-at-ease feelings around someone else’s perceived freedom. So my advice? Grab some for yourself! It’s never too late to jump out of the box! Peace and well wishes to you in 2013.

Leave a Reply

