Image

Life can be hard but also funny at times. A few weeks ago, I was writing about how I was tired of taking photos of flowers, and nature. On Christmas Day,  a bad snowstorm presented me with new scenes to photograph. That night we had a bad snowstorm. Now for Arkansas, 2-3 inches can stop our city. Our state is not well prepared to handle a lot of snow. While the freeways and major area gets clear, the back roads, like where we live are usually the last. Around 6:00p.m. our electric power went out. Our house is all electric. However, not to fret, ten years ago we had a horrific ice storm and we were not prepared. We learned the hard way.This time we were prepared. We had our kerosene heater, a Buddy heater, and my old standby camp stove that used propane. We closed off the rooms that wasn’t needed and were able to stay warm and heat up food, coffee and hot chocolate. We got out the scrabble and dominos. I kept thinking about the series of “Little House on the Prairie” books and how they survived the winter.

The next morning we looked out to see how many trees were down. We are surrounded by woods and it is always a concern that one of the trees will fall on our house. We were lucky but did lose some smaller trees. My favorite dogwood is gone.

By Thursday we were able to get out of our driveway.  It looked like a war zone. Trees down on the road, split into like toothpicks. The above picture is what we had to drive under to get out of our street. All the motels were full or didn’t have any power. We went to the hospital to charge our phone and computer. Finally, Friday, we found a motel and we are still here.

So, now, I have time to work on my photos and enjoying the warmth. I’m reminded of that old saying, “be careful what you wish for.” While I didn’t wish for a snow storm, I did get new items to photograph.

About photosbykenna

I enjoy taking photos of unusal things. I like different perspectives on a subject. While I have always taken pictures, it wasn't untill later that I became serious about it. I love to enter contests and have been fortunate to win several. I use a Cannon 4D camera.

One response »

  1. ambikk says:

    Reblogged this on ambikk's Blog and commented:
    Hold your horses…send a horse…

Leave a Reply

