Image

 I was thinking about what to write about and this photo came to mind. Look at this picture carefully. Do you see how high this river is? When I look back on what happen on this trip, I’m amazed that we survived it. We were in Jamaica on a trip with friends.

My daughter had been on this excursion a year early and highly recommended it. “Mom, it’s a nice lazy river that you float down. You able to see animals, birds and butterflies. It takes  a good two hours.” We like nature and being on the water so we decided to go.

When our bus pulled up to the river, it was wild. I begin to remember that this area was hit by a hurricane just a few days ago. Could this be the water from the rains they had? Hello!!  That should had been our first clue, don’t do it. We walked on down to the edge where the rafts were. Each raft was tied to a rope to keep the river from carrying them down stream. That should had been our second clue, don’t do it.

But no, the guides kept shouting, because the river was roaring, to us to get on. We did. There are two seats made out of bamboo that you can’t see in this photo. Once sitting down, you become aware that there is not many inches from you and the river. The rope was release and off we went. I remember telling Rusty that this isn’t how my daughter describe this. It was suppose to be slow, relaxing, and enjoyable. By that time, my knuckles were white.

As we raced down the river, I noticed people on the edge of the river, sitting in their boats, looking helpless at us. I realized that their boats were full of wares they had made and on a lazy river, would come out to sell these.  There was no way they were going catch us. We watched as a dog tried to swim out to us but wasn’t able to catch us either.

As we begin to feel a little more comfortable, Rusty got up and went to the front to steer the raft. This two hour float trip was set in record time. We did it in thirty minutes!  Sometimes being stupid can give you great memories.  Now that it is over, I wouldn’t trade it for anything.

About photosbykenna

I enjoy taking photos of unusal things. I like different perspectives on a subject. While I have always taken pictures, it wasn't untill later that I became serious about it. I love to enter contests and have been fortunate to win several. I use a Cannon 4D camera.

2 responses »

  1. Stupid CAN give you great memories – but man, I’ve learned a thing or two about doing my homework, as a result – though sometimes we can’t quite do that (we arrived in Aruba one year, and the night rains had flooded the hotel lobby where we were deposted, knee-deep in water, out of our taxi).
    Nice lazy river, indeed! 😉 Glad you’re both okay!

  2. […] High Water (photosbykenna.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

