I gave up blog writing. Why? I don’t know.  Maybe I thought my writing was boring. Lazy? Probably.  In a rut? For sure.  Today, this moment, I decided to return. Why? New changes are happening. We are taking big risks and I want to share these risks with anyone who wants to read.

We are moving. My husband and I always enjoyed the beach and one day, last fall, we asked our self why we aren’t living near the beach?  We took a two-week trip to the gulf and looked at several places to live. We found a place we liked, came home and put our house up for sale.sunset

We are retired Seniors. With that being said, it has been a hard decision to make. Our grandchildren are pretty much grown. We aren’t needed to babysit anymore. The kids are doing their own things. So, we decided we should do the same. Our main feeling is, if we don’t do this now, it will be too late.

Thousands of different thoughts and emotions came crashing on me: “Are you crazy?”, “You’re too old to make a long distant move”, “Who’s going take care of you?”, to mention a few.

Our house sold in two days. Excitement and panic overflowed. Now we really did it.  The packing of 23 years started. Since we are downsizing, we had to let go of a lot of stuff. Fortunately, my son wanted most of the furniture.  Goodwill and I became good friends after making several trips to donate.  During this period of getting rid of stuff, I noticed that I was feeling pretty good about it. I thought that was a bit odd for me as I can become attach to objects.

We separated what we want to keep and was waiting on our POD to arrive when the bad news came. Our buyer had to back out due to his buyer backing out. You know; the domino effect.  Our house is back on the market, and we are surrounded by boxes. How can potential buyers navigate around hundreds of boxes?  We had to make the main room presentable. All the boxes went downstairs. Now we are limbo. A waiting game. thumb_img_0549_1024

Last week we watched the documentary called “The Minimalist”. I’ve never heard this word before and what these guys were saying was making sense of the feelings I was having. I’ve always loved our house. It’s in the woods, but we are in the city limits. Surrounded by wildlife. It is a perfect place to have the grandchildren over to enjoy nature and all that goes with it. I realized our desires had changed. We enjoying traveling but wouldn’t stay gone very long for afraid something would happen to our house. In reality, we are tied to the house. This show helped me to see this clearly.

So, I would like to blog about how becoming a “Minimalist” is affecting my life as we prepared for our new chapter in life- living with less.

 

 

About photosbykenna

I enjoy taking photos of unusal things. I like different perspectives on a subject. While I have always taken pictures, it wasn't untill later that I became serious about it. I love to enter contests and have been fortunate to win several. I use a Cannon 4D camera.

Leave a Reply

