Today is the last day of 2016.  Usually, I feel sad to see the year end. Mostly because it’s a reminder of me getting older, like everyone else.  But, this day is different. I’m looking forward to the new year. A lot of changes will be happening to me.

It started last fall. We decided to put our house up for sale and plan to move to the gulf of Mexico.  We had a buyer in two days, but that failed through. As I mention in my last post, we are still waiting for a new prospect.

What I wasn’t aware of, the other changes going on with me. Since we are downsizing, big time, I had to go through and donate, sell, give away a lot of our things.  For example,  my couch from my grandparents that I thought I could never part with, is gone. My mind was made up. If I couldn’t use it, it was gone.

In the last few weeks, I watched a documentary called “The Minimalist”.  It struck a nerve. That’s what I was doing, minimalizing my life. Yes, it did feel freeing.  The saying, “less is best” is fitting for me.

Most of our items are packed up and waiting. This is the hard part. I’m ready to go, now. It’s getting cold here and I want to be where it is warm. I’m ready to make new changes in my life. I want to try and see new things. The waiting is creating a lot of anxiety for me. I know to calm that anxiety is to focus on the present.  I read an article this morning which touched me.  I quote, “big life changes don’t happen overnight. Give yourself some time. Put in the effort. You will be surprised what can happen in a year.” (The Minimalist)

So, I leave you with hoping everyone has a happy new year and be surprised what comes your way.

img_8178

About photosbykenna

I enjoy taking photos of unusal things. I like different perspectives on a subject. While I have always taken pictures, it wasn't untill later that I became serious about it. I love to enter contests and have been fortunate to win several. I use a Cannon 4D camera.

Leave a Reply

